FORUM

ForumJagged Alliance: Flashback General › Dev diary from a sector

- You have to be logged in to reply to this thread.

Dweep 06-03-2014, 17:14 CET
Pledger

Total Posts: 2
Dev diary from a sector

Hi.

My name is Rasmus Künstlicher and I’m at Full Control as a level design intern.

Short about me: Currently I’m studying the level design program at The Game Assembly in Malmö, Sweden. I got the opportunity to work half-time on Jagged Alliance: Flashback and get some experience and hopefully some portfolio material. Jagged Alliance 2 is one of my favourite games of all time and I am, of course, a backer of JA:F.

In this post I will show you some progress that I made on one of the filler levels, currently located at C14. I thought it would be cool to share some of the process with you guys and give you an understanding of how we work and what we do here!

When the task of making C14 was assigned to me I started with checking the strategic map to see what kind of sector it should be: is there a coastline, are there mountains, what’s in the neighbouring sectors, is there a road on so on. Then I made a quick crude top-down of the sector and started with building the terrain. I knew that the sector east of here contained a prison on a rocky peninsula and I wanted that to be reflected in this sector.

Early block-up of the map. Tank-traps and a road barrier in the eastern end because of the neighbouring prison.

I continued with making some cool spots on the map. I put up a military checkpoint at the road and some ruins of an old fishermans hut. Personally, I like to have a story in the environment that helps me to get it interesting. For example, the huts inhabitants were forced out many years ago due to the prison being so close by and the checkpoint was put up after a (famous) convict escaped the prison.

The guards made a chair out of sandbags so that they don’t have to stand up all day.