FORUM

ForumJagged Alliance: Flashback General › Some Pros and Cons

- You have to be logged in to reply to this thread.

Low_K 22-10-2014, 15:34 CET

Total Posts: 2
Some Pros and Cons

Some things in this post may have mentioned before, but I want them off my chest.

I am a long time JA veteran. Played JA2 to death and tried every JA version, be it official or rip-off, around. For instance; Hired Guns: The Jagged Edge was...well...very bad although I actually enjoyed Jagged Alliance:Back In Action. But the original Jagged Alliance 2 was never reached. I was so glad that I saw that a company made a true reboot of the game, even backed by The Bear's Pit guys, who made the JA2 1.13 version, and that is the way JA2 is to be played.

So I bought Flashback. And to be fair; It was quite the disappointment. It looks rushed and honestly very low-budget. Here are a few pros and cons I experienced, hopefully they will be adressed.

Pros

- Graphics look nice; The environments are well drawn, animations of the mercs and weather effects are good

- The mercenary pictures are very good; Better than JA2, ten million times better than JA:BiA

- IMP Creation; True to the original

Cons

- What is with the speech of the mercs? I recruited a girl in one of the first sectors and she sounds like a CPU. A CPU from the 80-ies that is. I understand speech is expensive but adding a computerised voice to a merc? Really? REALLY?? As you have the license; Why not re-use the speech set from JA2? All the voices of the mercs are pre-recorded in the original game, not difficult to transfer them to this game I would think. Those original speeches added a lot to the immersion, the one-liners and voices easily recognisable by JA2 veterans. These new speeches are very, very, very bad....