FORUM

ForumJagged Alliance: Flashback General › Current state of modding

- You have to be logged in to reply to this thread.

Wolfgrin 12-11-2014, 22:31 CET

Total Posts: 2
Current state of modding

I'm new to the forum, but not to the game. JA2 is my favorite TBS game ever. I'm not heartened by what I hear from other fans, but plan to buy the latest version soon to support future efforts. I see in some of the posts discussions about mods. What's the current state of modding? I'm sure the community, with proper tools or workable code can do wonders.

Also, I want to say I appreciate the efforts being made and how large a task it is. If we're true fans, we need to stick with the Flashback team a while longer with, if nothing else, moral support. I want this game to work. I want more games like it. 

I can't mod. I can't program. But I'm a damned good writer with a great sense of humor. How can I help?

Report Quote
Glettkin 12-11-2014, 22:53 CET

Total Posts: 90

Simple modding is available at the moment, but the true modding potential isn´t enabled yet, due to problems with the platform ("unity") they are building the game on. But it will be soon.

If you have skills in writing, then you could take part in future (fan made) camapign development, which is possible with the editor.

But in the end "Shanga" is the person you should talk to in this manner. He´s the expert in these things.

Report Quote
Claudius33 13-11-2014, 00:01 CET
Pledger

Total Posts: 88

Hello Wolfgrin,

I've made large campaigns for NWN2, so I am not too bad a writer either.

For now, as I started to do it, you can modify the file that contains the dialogs. You just need a text editor such as Notepad++ (use language/javascript option so you can check the delimiters).